Home » Nom Nom Nom » The Best Part of Waking Up…..

The Best Part of Waking Up…..

Oh hell, there’s not even a good part let alone a best part when you actually have to get up before dawn to Thing 1 an inch from your face holding a thing that shoots ping pong balls and Thing 2 squeezing your face and screaming “MOM!! BREFAS!!!”  But!!! Coffee with good creamer is a pretty good consolation prize; easing the blow that yes, your house and family are still here, being messy and screaming.

So today, instead of grabbing that bottle of artificial crap and throwing it into your perfectly fragrant, delicious, much needed and well deserved daily stimulant, we’re going to make our own. You might wonder, “What’s wrong with my artificial crap?! It looks like cream and tastes like cream you old stuck up…” I digress. The problem I have with it is firstly, it leaves a really funky after taste that has me using my awesome homemade toothpaste way too often, secondly, it contains stuff like corn syrup solids, trans fat oil, sodium caseinate, and dipotassium phosphate. Now, I don’t know about where you live, but none of that is available at my grocery store for me to just buy as is – that kind of bugs me. If I can’t just buy it straight and eat it, why would I want to get it all mixed together and drink it?

I have been using the same base recipe for a while now, but this one just kept coming across my stream on pinterest, so of course I had to try it – how could that many people be wrong? Here is the link to the original site –http://cookinwithsuperpickle.blogspot.com/2010/07/homemade-coffee-creamer.html – of course, I didn’t have sweetened condensed milk on hand, so I had to make that off the instructions at the bottom of the blog entry used. SO! Now that all that giving credit and back story is over with lets make some creamer before someone gets shot! Today we are making chocolate almond flavor ( I have a thing with almonds apparently..)

To make the sweetened condensed milk you will need:

1/2 c. Cold Water1 1/3 c. Nonfat Dry Milk3/4 c. Sugar1 tsp. Vanilla

1/2 c. Cold Water 1 1/3 c. Nonfat Dry Milk
3/4 c. Sugar
1 tsp. Vanilla

Whisk your milk powder into cold water and put over medium heat, whisk in sugar keep on heat until sugar is completely dissolved. Remove from heat and add vanilla. Let cool and either use or jar it up.

That was so easy! Now, let’s use it to make creamer! Here’s what you’ll need:

2 c. Whatever Milk you like (I use almond - surprise!)Your fresh condensed milk - or a 14 oz canFlavoring

2 c. Whatever Milk you like (I use almond – surprise!)
Your fresh condensed milk – or a 14 oz can
Flavoring

For flavoring I am using 2 Tbsp of  this die for homemade chocolate syrup( http://tonetiki.com/2012/07/05/step-by-step-video-fat-free-chocolate-sauce/ Even if you aren’t dieting or working on yourself check out her recipes my children and I have loved every one we have tried so far) and a tsp. of almond extract. I know on the site he/she says to use cocoa powder for this flavor, but I really just hate the sediment in the bottom of my cup when I use the powder in my usual base – you just can’t strain or shake it enough it seems.

Process:

The site says to just throw it in a bottle and shake the hell out of it, but I think that to really develop flavors and get a cohesive texture to anything it really should be heated before jarring it up, so I just threw everything except the extract into a sauce pan, whisked it together and waited until it was nice and steamy. Then, just remove it from the heat and throw in the extract. DONE!

Ok, so mine is totally still on the burner, but the heat is really off I swear.

Ok, so mine is totally still on the burner, but the heat is really off I swear.

Looking pretty good so far!!

Looking pretty good so far!!

Yum! And I feel less homicidal already!

Yum! And I feel less homicidal already!

So, after my initial happiness, I am very sad to report that it did have a bit of a funny after tasty thing going on. This might just be from my modifications to it, so definitely don’t rule it out just because I felt that way, but once this is gone (I refuse to throw away consumables) I will be posting the tried and true base that I absolutely love. GOOD MORNING!!!

 

Leave a Reply

