Home » A Clean House is a Happy House » Washin the Washer

Washin the Washer

I often find it really hard to believe that I have city water because our water is sooo full of mineral deposits and gunk. A perfect example of this is our dishwasher. It has always left a really nice sandy sediment in anything that upturns itself during the wash cycle. We sort of corrected this problem by of course investing in a water softener, and using a rinse aid and citric acid for every wash, but still the ickies have persisted. Case in point, my dishwasher that I have put off cleaning for far too long and now looks like so (you may want to grab your barf bags):

img_0662     img_0663

Pretty yucky eh? I once again, have a solution directly from pinterest that I have used in the past when the diswasher wasn’t nearly this filthy that had great results, so I thought I would try it again and share it with you.

Firstly, you’re going to need to take out the bottom rack of your dishwasher, brace yourself and fish around for chunky stuff.

img_0664

Rack out!!

img_0665

Fish here….

img_0666

and here….

img_0667

Now close your eyes and blindly fish around under here.

Next, crack out some white distilled vinegar and pour yourself a nice ol’ cupful.

img_0668

I used two because this thing is just soo nasty.

img_0669

Set your cupful into the top rack of your washer – Say cupful five times fast and giggle like an idiot.

img_0671

Run your washer for a full cycle with the hottest water possible

I used the normal wash cycle this round.

Put your kids down for a nap, grab a magazine and a drink and wait…….

Open washer and (drum roll)…..

img_0687

Well s**t. That almost looks worse…But! We shall carry on.

Sprinkle baking soda all over the bottom of the washer

Sprinkle baking soda all over the bottom of the washer

Run washer again…

img_0690img_0691

Look like an oxymoron to anyone else?

Kids are up from nap, no drink, fill time by losing mind and tugging on own hair while repeatedly counting to three aggressively… And the big reveal!

img_0698 NOTHIN!!!!

So, since that totally sucked and did absolutely nothing, I decided to move on to my cure all method for absolutely everything – let’s make some carbon dioxide!! First, re-sprinkle (I coated- there was no true sprinkling involved at this point) all over with baking soda. I even coated the door. Then for the fun part! Spray or splash vinegar all over your baking soda.

img_0700 BUBBLES!!! (My kids always ask me if I’m a scientist when I do this – I tell them yes.)

Close the door and walk away from the stupid thing for a good half hour, or however long you need to cool off after the disappointment of farting around all day with the dang thing for nothing…..

When you’re calm and ready (I took about 30 minutes), open it up and just wipe it down.

img_0701

Since the thing was so grimy I wanted to give the whole interior a wipe down so I took the top rack out as well – here’s how:

img_0702

Find this nifty end cap..

squeeze and pull it out.

squeeze and pull it out.

There are identical caps on the back of these that you will need to remove to wipe down everything.

And now, for our grand finale!!

img_0705img_0706

As previously stated, the original method used was from another site, and it did work really well with a much less filthy machine.Here is the link to the original site, http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/2012/02/how-to-clean-your-dishwasher.html if you’ve never been to the site before I definately would recommend hanging out and checking out more of her stuff, she has an absolute wealth of tricks and tips that are absolutely awesome. Now to throw the disgusting dishes that have been waiting all day into my nice clean machine!

 

 

Leave a Reply

