Home » Nom Nom Nom » Mom’s Best Friend

Mom’s Best Friend

In my household, there is no secrecy about it whatsoever – mom has a favorite child. I sometimes remind them all by snuggling this wonderful creature and reminding him that he is the best of my offspring. (He has no clue he’s adopted). You might be tempted to call me cruel or unkind, but the fact is, he’s a lab, and despite being a perpetual 2 year old, there could never be a human child to match his loyalty and goodness.  With him being the golden boy, there is simply no way I would feed him store bought fake-o treats, and he wouldn’t eat them anyway, so today we are making doggie cookies!! Here is the link to the site that has this and other recipes – this is the very first one on her list. http://turtlewoman.hubpages.com/hub/Top-10-Homemade-Dog-Treat-Recipes

Start off by preheating your oven to 300 degrees.

Here’s whatcha need:

2 c. Whole Wheat Flour1 c. Oats2     Eggs1/2 c. + 2 Tbsp H2O1/2 c. Nonfat Dry Milk1 c. Peanut Butter

2 c. Whole Wheat Flour
1 c. Oats
2 Eggs
1/2 c. + 2 Tbsp H2O
1/2 c. Nonfat Dry Milk
1 c. Peanut Butter

Usually I would include 3 Tbsp. fresh parsley, I just happened to be out today, but I highly doubt he’ll mind that these aren’t freshening his breath just this once.

Throw your flour, oats and dry milk together in a mixing bowl and give them a good stir. In a separate bowl beat your eggs.

This is how I beat eggs –

Shake shake shake!!

Shake shake shake!!

img_0645

Lid on and shake it!!!

Once your eggs are shaken..er… beaten, add in the water and peanut butter. I totally needed a bigger jar for this….  With the jar method, it won’t get as smooth – this was actually my first time putting the peanut butter in the jar with the eggs and water. Once it’s as mixed as you feel like it’s going to get, mix the wet ingredients into the dry.

See? Pretty lumpy, but it did soften it up a bit and mixed in just fine.

See? Pretty lumpy, but it did soften it up a bit and mixed in just fine.

Stir it all together. Don’t worry if it seems dry, you can always add more water later if it really needs it, just stir until it starts to pull from the side of the bowl like a dough. Once it has pulled together a bit, dump it out and knead. As you can see mine is still pretty dry, but I do have one pretty good chunk going.img_0649

This is the point that I usually find myself adding water, sprinkling about a tablespoon at a time over the whole top and then kneading that in to incorporate it. I added about 2 Tbsp of water to this mess to accomplish this effect –

img_0650

Once you have your nice kneaded ball of dough, grab your rolling pin and flatten it out to your desired thickness. My boy seems to like thicker chewier treats, so mine are anywhere from 1/4 – 1/2″ thick. Grab some cookie cutters and make them pretty, or just bake and break – whatever works for you. We do cookie cutters, because, afterall, he is just marvelous and deserving.img_0651 * Important note – I always line my cookie sheet with parchment paper here! Don’t know what happens if you don’t grease or line it, and I don’t want to find out! Once you’ve cut/flattened, throw them in the oven for 30 minutes or so – for the thick ones I do 30, for the 1/4″ version I do 20. Once your little buddy has had these, do not be surprised if he becomes a very serious oven guard…

img_0577 

Take them out, let them cool and watch the drool!!

Leave a Reply

