Home » Nom Nom Nom » Orange You Glad I Cranned These Together?

Orange You Glad I Cranned These Together?

img_0763

If you aren’t, just try them and you’ll be forever grateful. After turkey Wednesday, it occurred to me that I still had my left over cranberries just sitting in my freezer waiting to be used. I am not a fan of cranberry sauce at all, and actually buy them for the sole purpose of making cranberry ice. Trouble is, once again, I was left with 6 1/2 cups and no real good ideas. Until! It dawned on me how delicious would cranberry orange jam be? So I set off on my hunt to find a recipe for this dreamed of jam, and found many Christmas jams including strawberries, nutmeg and other Christmas-y ingredients that are all fine and good during the holidays, but I really wanted JUST cranberries and oranges in this one.  Fortunately for me there was a recipe out there that covered my criteria, and as a perk had vanilla in it (unfortunately it asks for a bean, which is ridiculously expensive, so I subbed extract).  While on my original hunt I had to think just what exactly I would do with this elusive jam once I made it and again, a stroke of brilliance – I’ll stuff it into orange muffins!!

Links to original recipes will be included at the bottom of this post.

img_0762To Make The Jam

(This is my exact process which is about double the original)

6 1/2 c. Frozen (or fresh) Cranberries

zest of 2 Oranges

1 c. Orange Juice

3 c. Sugar

2 1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract

1 c. Water

I threw everything except 1/2 tsp of the vanilla into a large pot and brought it all to a steady boil. Reduce heat and let simmer until reduced – I added in the 1/2 tsp vanilla here. In retrospect, I think I could have probably saved a bit and used less had I waited until the end to add vanilla and just done it by taste to be honest. I waited for my jam to gel before I started putting it in jars, and it came out pretty solid when I opened it up to make the muffins, so I don’t think it really needs anything more than the 20 minute simmer that the original asked for. When it reached the consistency I was looking for, I just put it through my baby food processor and loaded the jars from that. The jars were processed in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes and all came out sealed and ruby red beautiful!

To Make The Muffins img_0765

2 c. All Purpose Flour

2 tsp. Baking Powder

1/4 tsp.  Baking Soda

1 tsp. Salt

1/2 c. Sugar

zest of 2 Oranges (comes out a little over the recommended 1 Tbsp)

2/3 c. Orange Juice

1/2 c. Melted Butter (one whole stick)

2 Eggs

Mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, sugar and orange zest in large bowl. Stir in juice, butter and eggs until batter is evenly moist. Spoon batter into 12 muffin cups only filling them half (if that) full. Make a well in the middle of your batter to spoon in jam. Cover jam with another spoonful of batter.  Bake at 350 for 30 min. Let cool and enjoy!

Links to Original Recipes:

Jam –http://www.yummly.com/recipe/Cranberry-Jam-Epicurious_1?columns=undefined

Muffins – http://allrecipes.com/recipe/orange-muffins/detail.aspx

Leave a Reply

