Home » Nom Nom Nom » Hearts on a Platter

Hearts on a Platter

My husband and I don’t recognize Valentine’s day – we rebel against most major holidays in general to be honest. That being said, we do have two small children who I feel should not be cheated out of a holiday just because mom and dad don’t do anything special for each other. So every year I spend the day before making valentines with the kids out of anything pink, red or white that I can dig up, and on the morning of I make them pink heart pancakes. Currently both children have colds, and so this morning I decided that I would up their vitamin c intake all around and and make orange pancakes with strawberry orange sauce. You will definitely want to start your sauce before doing anything with the pancakes especially if you are starting with frozen berries.img_0790

Strawberry Orange Sauce

3 1/2 c. Whole strawberries (if using frozen like I did, don’t thaw them, just throw them in straight from the bag.)

1/2 c. Water

1/4 c. Orange Juice

1/2 c. Sugar

Combine and stir together all ingredients in a sauce pan.  Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to maintain a low boil and simmer until reduced by half stirring frequently (I want to say mine took about 15-20 min from the first boil to reduce). Once reduced, remove from heat – it will thicken up a bit as it stands. This makes quite a bit, and I ended up with 1 1/2 half pint jars going into the fridge when everyone had gotten their fill. You could probably cut this in half or can the extra (I was too lazy this morning) in a boiling water bath with a 10 minute processing time.

Orange Pancakes – I start these as soon as I have my sauce stirred up and on the heat – I only have the one cookie cutter though, so the pancakes take me longer than if I was doing multiples. img_0791

1 Egg

1 c. Flour

1/4 c. Orange Juice

3/4 c. Milk

1 Tbsp. Sugar

2 Tbsp. Oil

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking sodaimg_0792

1/2 tsp. vanilla

dash salt

Red Food coloring

Oil for pan/cookie cutter

Pour some oil into a shallow dish and plop your cookie cutter in. Heat griddle/skillet. I put my orange juice and milk together in a liquid measuring cup at this point to make something of a weak buttermilk. Beat egg well. Add and beat in all remaining ingredients. I pour my batter into my

The cutter should not stick at all when you go to remove it - it should slide right off leaving this result.

The cutter should not stick at all when you go to remove it – it should slide right off leaving this result.

measuring cup that I used for my milk and orange juice to make pouring easier.  Add oil to griddle/skillet to heat – once heated place your cookie cutter into skillet (make sure it isn’t plastic!!) to allow it to heat up slightly. After about a minute (if that) pour batter into your cookie cutter – I basically just thinly trace along the inside of the cutter – just enough so that it will all coalesce into the center and fill the shape out – if you make them too thick and pour too fast they will not cook well. Let batter cook within the cookie cutter for a minute until the sides are bubbly/formed. Remove cookie cutter with tongs and place back into your dish with oil to slick it up for your next pancake. Flip pancake and cook through.

*A note on the flavor – these pancakes don’t actually have a real orange flavor – I just wanted the vitamin boost. To get a better orange flavor reduce the milk and make up for it with more juice (I would not go beyond a half and half mixture), or/and throw in some orange zest.

Top your pancakes with sauce and dig in!

img_0796

Leave a Reply

