Home » Nom Nom Nom » The 74 Calorie Health(ier) Cookie

The 74 Calorie Health(ier) Cookie

img_0913

I totally had to take two bites before taking the picture… the first one was all gooey choco-fied and you couldn’t see the dough texture 😉

Yes, you read that right.  I made a “healthy” 74 calorie cookie, and honestly, I think it’s pretty good! Of course, it does have a drawback – the texture is a lot softer than the real deal, and I think it’s more “bread-y” than my originals. However, after seeing a picture of myself taken recently, I really don’t care about texture all that much. If I can get my sweet fix without guilt and not have to buy bigger jeans, I can totally compromise with eating a softer cookie.

What You Need:img_0899

1/2 c. mashed banana – I just used 1 med/lg one and came in a tiny bit under 1/2 c.

1/4 c. sugar

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp molasses

1/4 c. applesauce

1/2 c. all purpose flour

1/2 c. whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 c. chocolate chips – I use ghirardelli 60% cacao

 

Preheat oven to 375.

For the banana mashing, I just peeled my banana and plopped it in a bowl and went to town with the hand mixer. Once it was mostly mushed, I added in my sugar, 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp molasses.  Beat on low until mixed (just a couple seconds), add in apple sauce and mix again. Sift flours, baking soda and salt in and beat until well incorporated, scraping the sides of the bowl once or twice. Toss in chocolate chips and remaining 1/2 tsp. vanilla and mix again!

Finished dough.. I was a little nervous!

Finished dough.. I was a little nervous!

Drop by teaspoonfuls onto parchment lined cookie sheet – these will stick! (It also should be noted that this dough is not as thick as the traditional stuff.)  I got 24 out of this recipe. Bake for 10 -15 minutes, or until set and very light brown.

Fresh out of the oven!

Fresh out of the oven!

Cool and eat with absolutely no guilt and a happy little smirk.

Just so you can justify that smirk, here are the stats. Healthy cookie is in green.  Regular cookie is in red. Stats are for a single cookie (not a batch hahaha) 

Calories                                   74                       114

Fat  g.                                        3.2                       6.5

Saturated Fat g.                      1.8                      4

Cholesterol mg.                       0                       18.2

Sodium mg.                            72.1                 100.8

Carbohydrates  g.                 11.5                     13.5   (The numbers are close here, but remember the KIND of carbs you’re getting is important too)

Fiber  g.                                       1                           0.1

Sugar  g.                                      6.3                        9.1   (Again, be aware of where the sugar is from – there’s some good stuff in that fruit!)

Protein g.                                    1.2                        0.8

 

 

I found the nifty sub ideas at Picklee.  🙂

Leave a Reply

